No Witch Hunt Thanks!

Baby Peter’s murderers are now revealed, which complicates the affair even more:

[But} wind back 28 years to Connelly’s beginnings and the echoes of neglect, deprivation, cruelty and abuse are hard to ignore.

Connelly was born on 29 June 1981 in Leicester, the product of a liaison between a travelling salesman and Mary O’Connor, her Irish-born mother. She grew up with her brother, who was four years older, but before Connelly was two her mother had split up with the salesman and moved the family from Leicester to north London.

Like her daughter would go on to do, Connelly’s mother neglected her children.

By that time her mother was living with another man, one whom Connelly would call her dad. But when she was 12 her mother revealed that he was not her real father after all. Connelly has spoken little about her background and has told legal sources that she does not want her life re-examined, but she has said that the information about her father “sent me a bit wild for a while”.

“I went through a period of wanting to find him,” she said. At this point relationships within the family were breaking down. Connelly claims she was being physically abused, and eventually because of the situation at home with her mother she was taken under the wing of Islington social services along with her relative.

She was given the choice of being placed into care in a children’s home or a live-in reform school. She chose the latter. The relative, however, did enter a children’s home run by Islington, at a time when unknown to the wider world they were in the grip of a paedophile ring targeting children unchecked by the authorities.

When the child abuse scandal that permeated Islington’s homes was exposed in the 1990s the position of Connelly’s relative was considered so serious that a separate report was written about him. Known as Child A, he was targeted by the paedophile ring as a victim and then groomed into becoming a kind of pied piper, luring other children from Islington homes into the grips of the group of abusers.

I’m not happy that her’s, her boyfriend’s and his brother’s names have been formally released. And that doesn’t mean I support them in any way, or condone a single thing that they did – what she, Barker & Owen did was horrific, indefensible and unforgivable, but releasing their names risks a witch hunt against them. I have a thing against witch hunts, I tend to prefer the rule of law, which like it or not has to apply equally to everyone at all times. And while reports like this one can give some insight into what made Connelly the person she’s become, those like it will be few and far between (see?), with ‘monster’ headlines clouding the realities about these ‘monsters’, which makes it ever harder to identify and protect (safeguard?) other children genuinely at risk of abuse or death. Should his killers rot in jail forever? Of course. But let’s have a reasoned look at what makes people like this do what they do, and make it easier for people in the child protection business to identify them and do a better job of protecting children.

18 responses to “No Witch Hunt Thanks!

  1. Quite agree, and said so in my own blog on the subject.

  2. Are you f@*$king kidding me????? You are against their names being released…The people have a right to know who these people are. You say you dont support what they did but you also dont support witch hunts?!!!! Well guess what not all people who were abused or lived in a violent home turn out like that bitch scum Tracey who calls herself a mother. I went down a path as worst as her’s and I have three kids of my own whom I cherish each and every day who I love with my heart and soul. I would never let a man into my life and let him do to any of my children what that monster of a man did to poor innocent baby Peter, I would serve justice myself if anyone would ever come close in trying to hurt my kids! You do you have kids???? Would you allow that to happen to your child and then let the murderer have a second chance in life while your child didn’t??? well would you??? I dont agree with you when you say that they should not of released their names I stand on my own God help me when I say that I am happy to know that everyone in the world comes to know their names as for justice will be served in a much grater way then just a couple years of jail time. You my friend are not true at heart if you believe that those animals should be protected in anyway while no one was their to protect baby Peter. I can’t believe what I read when you say that you are not happy about their names being released…Do you not realize the big picture here???? Screw them all three of them if someone could get their hands on them and make them suffer as much and more as what they did to baby Peter I would not be SAD at all atleast real justice for baby Peter would be served. They are still living and will walk out still alive and go on with their pathetic lives but baby Peter will never ever know what love is what protection is what life is cause of the monsters he was living with. I am sorry if my anger offends you but I just dont know why they should be protected when no one was able to protect an innocent child.

  3. Mob rule is not justice.

  4. Their are exceptions trust me in a case like this they would deserve every thing and anything coming to them. You have your beliefes and I as a mother and a protecter to my children I believe that justice was not served!!!!!

  5. There cannot be exceptions to any system of justice, otherwise it ceases to be justice. We might not like what people do but if they are not dealt with by the law, if they are dealt with on the whim of people outside of the law, we might as well stop having courts or judges or lawyers. I do not defend what these people done but I do defend every single human being’s right to the same processes of justice.

  6. I do understand what you are saying to the fullest. Let me ask you…Do you have children? Would you sit back and let someone torture your child for 8 months and then eventually kill them and not do anything about it? I just cant begin to understand how she could just sit on her fat slobby ass not do anything to stop Baker from doing the things he did. I understand she has a past of growing up in neglect but that is no excuse for what she done. I think if they would of all got life sentences I wouldn’t be so angry and outraged but I am cause all they got was a slp on the wrist. Their lives will go on and for what to repeat the same situation again?? She gonna get pregnant again and the same thing will happen all over…why??? cause justice let it happen. You sir believe in the rights in all human as do I but I find that in certain cases their should be diferrent kinds of justice and in their kind I would say that death sentence would have been what they deserved maybe it could have showed other monsters like them that you dont easily get away with child torture and death. The justice now showed that allowing someone to die wich in my eyes is murder that it’s ok you’ll only get 5 to 10 years and walk out a free man or woman. People like you sir that dont seem to understand what I am saying make me sick and makes me fear for my life and the life of my kids knowing that their are people like you who may not be ok with what they done but find it perfectly fine that they get protection…Really??? Dont try to preech me with human rights and that bullshit baby Peter was a human in case you are forgetting he was a dod he was a human innocent child where were his rights???? well? where were they???? that’s right they were NEGLECTED by all people who could have helped him so dont you sit their telling me about human rights in cases like Tracey and her penis man they should have no rights they should rot in jail for the rest of their lives!

  7. I do have children. I do not automatically bel,ieve that the capacity to procreate means I am any wiser in terms of delivering justice than anyone else. Which is why I think the justice system must be consistent. I am not preaching. Are you?
    Yes that child had human rights too but the acts of sick individuals against him or any other child on the planet must be dealt with by the laws of the country. If you do not like the laws of our country perhaps you would be better served lobbying parliament to change the law. You write passionately, perhaps it will persuade someone with influence to listen to you.

  8. No I am not preaching you!! I just feel strongly about this situation and for any other child as well. I come from a long line of abuse I know the pain that I felt and I can only imagine the pain of that of Baby Peter and others that had it way more worse then I. I just feel that the justice system has got to improve their law to the max and no I dont think that I alone can change it althought I wish I could. I just cant sit back and watch or hear about things that when it comes to abuse of any kind that the only justice they get is a few years in jail while they should be serving life. I dont agree with you when you say they the parents or so called parents should be protected but I also believe that we all have our own ways of thinking and dealing with it. I feel from the deepest of my soul that if this is the way the justice system works then so be it but I do believe in Karma and I do know that they will suffer someway somehow.

  9. You sir believe in the rights in all human as do I but I find that in certain cases their should be diferrent kinds of justice and in their kind I would say that death sentence would have been what they deserved maybe it could have showed other monsters like them that you dont easily get away with child torture and death.

    With respect your argument is not in support of human rights. Where do we draw the line with death sentences? All murder? All killing? All rape? Under all circumstances? What sort of society would we become if we started once again deciding who was worthy of life and who wasn’t? Does that make us any better people? I’d rather live in a more compassionate world myself, one which respected everyone’s right to life.

    I agree fully with Steven’s position on this – the law’s the best thing we have, and we can’t start limiting who it applies to and to whom it doesn’t. Vigilante justice and mob rule are values we threw out with the Enlightenment. I’d rather they were kept out for everyone – people we like as well as people we don’t.

  10. Tanya, if you believe in karma then you believe these people will be punished by the laws of karma. If this is the case, the failure of the law courts of Great Britain to deliver a sentence which you (and many of us) feel fits the crimes does not mean they will get away with it, on a cosmic level. Does this belief not help you feel better about disparity within human justice systems?

  11. I understand fully what you say, and like I already said we all have our own beliefs. I just think that in certain cases their should be higher justice then in other cases. Ok so you say they dont deserve the death sentence?! Fine I do agree maybe that was a little extreme I mean after all they just killed an innocent deffensless child right?! but I do think that they should have gotten more then just 5 years or 10 years my opinion they should be serving life. Did you not read the part of the story where they are maybe in jail but they are still getting treated pretty well I mean Tracey Connelly gets her hair done once a week wow lucky woman!!!! Anyhow You think the way you want I will think the way I want. I dont think that you are wrong cause in your minds you think you are right so be it!!! You dont agree with me that’s also fine. Dont have to gang up on someone for what they believe is right or wrong, but being a mother of three children and having a son the age of when baby Peter was murdered that is probably why I feel more strongly about it then you! Of course you will some how find away to say that it was all do to the mother’s past and the boyfriends past that this is the reason why it happened…but that my friends would not be a totally true statement. I do thank you for making me realize what other people think about this hole story but I wonder how you would feel if the tables were turned ???!!!

  12. I haven’t said a word in the defence of the people who did these things. And we are not ganging up on you. We simply don’t share your emotive perspective. It’s known as debate.
    And as for feelings, that’s the whole point. My own personal emotions about this case should have nothing to do with how the law court treats them. Otherwise anyone would be free to make an emotional appeal to a judge and get the sentence they want. The reason we have a legal system is to ensure that all people – those we don’t like and those we don’t like, as cosmodaddy has said – are treated equally. However you want to try and reword your argument, you are calling for one law for some people and a different law for others. This will always equate to a miscarriage of justice.

  13. Tell me Steven what are your emotions about this???? cause with all do respect you seem to be more for the rights of the parents when they get out to be protected then anything else?!!!! Please lighten me on this tell me why you think they should be protected??? I’m sure I would have alot os people backing me on this when I say that they dont deserve protection of changed identity let them be released to face the real world and of what they done. Think what you may of me, that I am not seeing this clearly that I’m not thinking of all human rights but I say that I am thinking of all human rights and what those people did was not human…so why treat them like they are?!!! oh that’s right cause when it comes down to it they are still human right?!! yah your right they are still human.

  14. My emotions are irrelevant to the kind of justice everyone in this country should be treated to. And if you could kindly stop putting words into my mouth I would be grateful for it – honestly, you make sweeping statements about what I am supposed to think or what I have said without basing those statements on what I have actually said. My whole point is, to repeat, that emotions are not what ensures the justice of anyone, whatever they have done.

  15. I appologize if I made you think I was putting words in your mouth. I am not saying what you should think did you not see that I wrote “your own beliefs” I dont care what you think about it I was just giving my opinion that turned in to an argument that neither of us will win!!! With all do respect I just think that justice was not served the way I should have been. I dont want to repeat myself again as I’ve said what I thought. I respect your thoughts your outlook on this as for you should respect mine rather we think we are right or not will not change what has alredy been done. Again I appologize for what you feel towards me in putting so called words in your mouth. Neither you nore I can change eachother thinking let it be left at that!

  16. Tell me Steven what are your emotions about this???? cause with all do respect you seem to be more for the rights of the parents when they get out to be protected then anything else?!!!!

    I think you missed the bit where he said he wasn’t defending their behaviour, nor the need for them to face the consequences of their behaviour. The difference between you is that you’re arguing they should face the brunt of your emotional response – he’s arguing their fate should be determined by the law.

    Think what you may of me, that I am not seeing this clearly that I’m not thinking of all human rights but I say that I am thinking of all human rights and what those people did was not human…so why treat them like they are?!!! oh that’s right cause when it comes down to it they are still human right?!! yah your right they are still human.

    The whole point of human rights is that they apply to everyone, everywhere, under all circumstances. You can’t pick and choose. People who argue that some people are more human than others sadly often fail to understand just how dangerous their argument is.

  17. Like I said we all believe in things in a different way I dont want to argue what I believe and I no longer want to argue what should or should not have been. I’m not stupid as it kind of sounds you are making me out to be by thinking I dont understand the Law…cause I do I just dont find it fair that’s all!

Leave a Reply

