Christianists Don’t Get It

The Christian Institute are up to their old homophobic tricks again. Because this is hardly news I’ll keep my commentary brief:

The General Teaching Council is conducting a consultation on a proposed Code of Conduct and Practice.

The evangelicals have taken exception to one section of the Code which reads:

“Registered teachers should proactively challenge discrimination, stereotyping and bullying, no matter who is the victim or perpetrator; promote equality and value diversity in all their professional relationships and interactions.”

Colin Hart, Director of The Christian Institute, said:

“Christians would support most of the code, but many are alarmed by the new diversity rules.

“Under the code, Christian teachers will be required to ‘proactively combat discrimination’ and ‘value diversity’ based on religious belief and sexual orientation.

“The code rightly requires that teachers should respect their colleagues and those they teach.

“But respect for people as people is not the same as respecting or valuing every religious belief or sexual lifestyle.

Yes it bloody is you bigoted idiot.

15 responses to “Christianists Don’t Get It

  1. No it really isn’t the same. I can respect the personhood of a murderer. It does not mean I have to respect his actions or his beliefs.

    And if you are right in that it is the same thing, you should be ashamed of calling him a bigoted idiot, because you are not respecting his beliefs.

  2. If I read it correctly, the teachers are being asked to respect or value every religious belief or sexual lifestyle. It sounds noble. Are you willing? Are you willing to value every religious belief? Would you consider it respectful if the teachers referred to people as perverted idiots?

  3. @normbetland – Well done for equating being gay with being a murderer. I don’t respect anyone’s beliefs when they involve bigotry or discrimination. That would just be stupid.

  4. @Ben – Of course I’m not prepared to value every religious belief, and teachers are being quite rightly instructed to value sexual orientation, not lifestyle, the former being inherent of course and this deserving of unconditional respect. I am prepared to respect the fact that you might be religious, even though such a qualiy isn’t even inherent! But to respect every belief, regardless of it’s effect and impact on others would be crazy.

  5. argh, that makes me mad. And when are people going to get that respect is different from endorsement? Christians go completely nuts if they think someone isn’t respecting their religious beliefs, but feel above needing to respect anyone else’s. Drives me nuts.

  6. I just find it so depressing and demoralising.

    No matter how hard some people try to facilitate equality, kindness and peace – in this case The General Teaching Council; there’s inevitably some nasty little Christian doing his best to curtail anything which resembles a good plan to promote love and understanding.

    People like normbetland should be utterly ashamed of themselves.

  7. I preach Jesus on the streets — even in San Francisco. Imagine how “nuts” I am at how little respect you can imagine I get. Probably, if I was so demanding of respect, I would be extremely angry by now. I’m not even slightly.

    I do not endorse sin, whether it is hatred, malice, murder, theft, fornication, deceit, blasphemy, pride or foolishness. I preach the gospel because I value every person for whom Christ died. Their salvation is his just reward for which he suffered death, even death on a cross.

  8. Ben said – “I do not endorse sin, whether it is hatred, malice, murder, theft, fornication, deceit, blasphemy, pride or foolishness.”

    But isn’t it funny, the one so called sin nut-jobs like you get so, so hung up on is always homosexuality.

    If you were to apply the same ferocity of argument with anything else in your list of sins, at least I could say you were a consistent preacher, but I have no doubt it’s the only ‘sin’ you vigorously campaign actively against on blogs across the internet and it’s the one utmost on your mind.

  9. I realize it would be smug if my message was, “I can help you… to be just like me.” Honestly, how well do you think I would fare even if I were preaching to the church? I realize that people do not want to be like me. I hope that demonstrates a measure of humilty, at least a little. So if I don’t have any reasonable expectation to convert people into me, what is it that I preach?

    I preach not myself, but Christ and his glory. I give the words which he has given me because it is he that seeketh his glory who sent him who is true and in whom there is no unrighteousness. I seek not my glory, but his that sent me. He is true; and I speak to the world those things which I have heard of him.

    He that hears his word, and believes on him who sent me has everlasting life and shall not come into condemnation but is passed from death unto life.

  10. Mind you Cosmo, you should take some consolation that your little bit of the internet reaches the chosen one – all the way over on Highway 395 in Nevada.

  11. Utmost on my mind is the sinner who treads under foot the son of God, who counts the blood of the covenant, wherewith he was sanctified, an unholy thing, and who does despite unto the spirit of grace. But I do not vigorously campaign against them — rather I am for them, because I know it is a fearful thing to fall into the hands of the living God who has said, “Vengeance belongeth unto me, I will recompense.” There for I cease not to warn you.

  12. James, I am mindful that I am made a gazingstock by your reproach, but I have said none other things than those which the prophets and Moses did say should come: That Christ should suffer, and that he should be the first that should rise from the dead, and should shew light unto the people, and to the Gentiles. I speak forth the words of truth and soberness.

    Do you believe the prophets?

  13. “He that hears his word, and believes on him who sent me has everlasting life and shall not come into condemnation but is passed from death unto life.”

    Cult speak. Do you have any ability to critically evaluate what you read? You take picture language, written down from stories based on oral traditions at a time before the printing press and take them as literal facts. How disrespectful of your own ability to reason! And then there’s the matter of talking like a normal human being…

  14. Ben, I was always led to believe that your god supposedly created you in the image of himself.

    Right now you’re showing none of the characteristics. In actual fact you are beginning to sound more like an android with a book, as opposed to one of your gods special ones complete with ability to love understand.

  15. Ben wrote “I am mindful that I am made a gazingstock”…

    Is that like a chicken stock? Do you have a recipe? Is it possible to get it kosher, or is it intended just for Gentiles? Thanks in anticipation…

Leave a Reply

