Matt Smith – the Eleventh Doctor

I have to admit I’ve been caught by surprise by the excitement I’m feeling around the arrival of Matt Smith as the Eleventh Doctor. Like Neil Gaiman I’m slightly disappointed Paterson Joseph didn’t get it, but new Executive Producer and Head Writer Steven Moffat says he was an instantaneous fit for how he saw Eleven, and that’s more than good enough for me. He has the chops for serious, the chops for credible, and no baggage to hinder him in becoming an Eleven very different to David Tennant’s Ten. We have a very young man playing 900+, which should be very interesting indeed, particularly if Moffat revisits continuity he’s already introduced, such as Professor River Song

I strongly believe that David Tennant has chosen to retire Ten about a series (or part of one, think about it) too soon, and I’ll be very sad to see him go. In four years he’s managed to define the role for an entire generation, but the secret of the franchise’s longevity has been its ability to completely reinvent itself from its bad times as well as its good ones. Moffat + Smith in 2010 is now really intriguing.

Leave a comment