Jacqui Smith Claims Public Demands ID Cards

Our lovely Home Secretary now claims she’s pursuing ID cards because the public demands them:

Jacqui Smith says public demand means people will be able to pre-register for an ID card within the next few months.

The cards will be available for all from 2012 but she said: “I regularly have people coming up to me and saying they don’t want to wait that long.”

The home secretary made the claim as she unveiled revised ID scheme plans.

Phil Booth, national coordinator of the NO2ID campaign said:

Jacqui Smith’s claim that people were saying they wanted an ID card “beggared belief” and would “come back to haunt her”.

“She must be ignoring twice the number of people who are coming up to her and saying I don’t want my details on any database whatsoever.”

She’s certainly delusional:

Ministers hope that 7 million people a year will apply for the separate card or one combined with a passport from 2012, in a market that could be worth £200m a year.

I think I can speak for everyone I know as well as myself that it’ll be a cold day in hell that I apply for an ID card, let alone actually get one. It’s revealing of course, from the final line, that ID cards are not about gaining identity security, or combating terrorism. The British ID card scheme is entirely about profit – namely the privatisation of identity itself.

3 responses to “Jacqui Smith Claims Public Demands ID Cards

  1. heh I would have thought she would claim it’s , “for the children”. That’s my favorite.

  2. What will tip me completely over the edge will be if Capita get the outsourcing contract.

  3. Anything that this government gets behind has very little to do with what is good for the public and everything to do with what is good for government. They can stick their ID cards, there is no benefit for me and therefore, I ain’t buying…full stop!

Leave a Reply

