David Tennant Leaves Doctor Who

Awful news. But it does prove Russell T Davies’ interview hint that he knew when he was leaving, and it does explain why Davies and incoming executive producer/lead writer Steven Moffat have each expressed their opinion about who should follow him. Tennant took over after Ninth Doctor Christopher Eccleston shamefully ditched the role after only the initial season of the new run, but swiftly eclipsed his popular predecessor, often being voted the most popular of all the Doctors, and rightly so. I was really hoping for at least one series with Moffat, but it appears not to be, which is a real shame.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

But hey the character is about change, and it’s come around again. I know who I think should follow him, but what about you?

5 responses to “David Tennant Leaves Doctor Who

  1. I’m disappointed.

    I hope he doesn’t do a Billie Piper and quickly regret it.

  2. Oh I think he will. He’s mistimed this something rotten. I get his reasoning of sticking to his original gameplan (more or less) and leaving while the going’s good, but I really thought it would make more sense to end after one season of something completely different with Moffat.

    Having said that my longstanding favourite to succeed him appears very much in the race and is on that list. Paterson Joseph stood out for me before Christopher Eccleston ever got the job – I wonder if anyone remembers him as the Marquis de Carabas in Neil Gaiman’s Neverwhere? He also has form for working successfully with Moffat…

  3. How did you embed the iPlayer video? I’ve been trying to work out how it’s done!!

  4. it’s sad but it’s kind of the nature of the show. He’s a really talented actor and I’m sure he’s worried about being typecast. (a silly worry I think and more of a managers fault than the audience’s)

    He has four more episodes left and a whole year of working on projects so he’ll be around. I have no real choice on the next doctor though, I think that’s part of the fun, not knowing who will be next.

  5. I think that’s a good point. Eccleston came out of left field and Tennant wasn’t an instantaneous successor. It’ll be interesting to see who Moffat selects to succeed him – my guess is probably none of the above (although I’ll be rooting for Joseph).

    @ Mike – get the Vodpod browser extension. The link is available from the list of explanations of different video formats when you ‘add video’.

Leave a Reply

