Will Young in Session

On Friday Will Young did a live session for BBC Radio 2, to promote the launch on Monday of his new album ‘Let It Go’. I know it’s the same song as my last video post, but it really is so good, this arrangement is so much fun, and I find him more enjoyable as a performer than ever. ‘Grace’ of course is now confirmed as second single in mid-December and if the fates are kind, it’ll be huge…

Vodpod videos no longer available.

For those of you who don’t know me that well, Will’s been an important example to me for years. His ‘Pop Idol’ victory (against all conventional wisdom), his display of individuality for ‘Friday’s Child’ and being honest about his discomfort with his life’s status quo during ‘Keep On’ have all taught me a great deal, regularly articulating where I was or where I wanted to be in life. Some people call this a talent in knowing how to pick the right songs, I just find it reassuring to see a public figure with so much ability and personality functioning as fully as they’re supposed to, even with all the requisite ups and downs.

I’ve also been lucky in having opportunities to take his picture, and to be able to show others this towering example of a young, out gay man who has become the superstar he was predicted to be. Friday was no exception, and you can click on the photo below to see the others in the series:

One response to “Will Young in Session

  1. Ahhh, now I know where you went on Friday.

    Great pictures as well.

    It’s funny because you often inspire me in the same way Will inspires you. I’ve kind of learnt lots from you over the years.

    I look forward to your album review.

Leave a Reply

